Do you have a long list of conversations that are clogging your inbox? If so, it is now time to delete Facebook messages that you couldn’t get rid of before. Deleting a conversation on Facebook is much more comfortable than deleting a string of messages. It is also very important to note that when you delete a conversation or a message from your messenger or Facebook app you only delete it from your side. The messages will still be displayed in the recipient’s inbox or chat. You cannot make the messages disappear from the receiver’s inbox. If you have sent an embarrassing message that you wish you can delete from the recipient’s phone, you can only to do it by deleting the messages from the recipient’s phone.
A conversation doesn’t necessarily need to be deleted; you can archive conversations so that you can access them later as well. Most of the times we delete Facebook messages and regret it later. After all, it is just a message sitting in your inbox. It doesn’t harm anyone, does it? If you have deleted a message on Facebook, you can also retrieve them through a simple but long process.
But if you still want to get rid of a message and you don’t want to see it on your mobile or messenger app you can easily delete them. There is no long list of steps to do so, and the process is very simple as well. You just need to press a single button and you are done! Now you don’t have to look at that particular message or conversation anymore.
Many people use Facebook messenger as an app for texting or sending messages on Facebook; the messenger is an app that separates your conversations from all other activities you perform on Facebook. You get separate notifications for messenger, and it is a recommended app if you constantly engage in conversations on Facebook. It simplifies your texting experience so that you don’t miss any text that you receive.
How to delete Facebook messages using PC
If you are using your laptop or PC to connect with people through Facebook and you want to delete a string of messages you can follow the steps listed below.
- Open your Facebook profile by logging into your account. You can follow the link: https://www.Facebook.com to open Facebook on your PC.
- Now that you have opened your profile find a speech bubble icon with a lightning bolt in it. This icon is also called the messenger icon.
- Click on the messenger icon which is present on the top right corner, a drop-down menu will appear.
- Click on the see all in messenger option that appears in the bottom of your chat list.
- Facebook will direct you to a page which has a title ‘the messenger,’ and from here you can open a conversation. You can delete a number of messages from this conversation, but you cannot delete them all at once. You can only delete a single message at a time.
- To delete a message, bring the cursor to the message, and now you will see a smiley face and three dots appearing on the right-hand side of the message.
- Bring the cursor on the three dots, and a pop-up delete button will appear.
- Click on the delete button.
- A dialogue box will open asking whether you want to delete the message, click on the delete option.
- Your message is deleted!
Deleting a conversation
- You can also delete a conversation on Facebook. It is an easier way to delete all the messages by a single click.
- All you need to do is move the cursor to the conversation list; you will see a gear sign on the bottom right side of the conversation.
- Move the cursor to the gear sign and click on it, a drop-down menu will appear. Click on the delete option.
- A dialogue box will appear asking if you want to delete the conversation permanently. You can either delete or archive the conversation.
How to delete Facebook messages on a mobile
How to delete Facebook messages using messenger
Messenger is a great app through which you can text your friends and connect with them. You can instantly reach out to your friends and family through messenger. You can call and video call your friends too. Messenger also syncs to your phone messages.
- Open the app and you should tap on the conversation you want to delete.
- After you open the conversation, tap and hold on the message you want to delete.
- On the lower right section, you will see the delete icon which looks like a dustbin.
- Click on that option, a dialogue box will open asking whether you want to permanently delete the message or not.
Deleting a conversation
To delete a conversation, you can use the two of the following methods.
- Tap and hold on a conversation to open a drop-down menu.
- You will see a long list of messages, select the delete option from this list.
- A dialogue box will appear asking whether you want to confirm or complete the deletion process.
- Click on the delete option.
- Another method that you can use is by opening the conversation you want to delete.
- Select the ‘i’ button on the top right corner, now you will be directed to another page.
- Click on the three verticle dots that appear on the top right corner.
- Click on the deleted conversation option.